NoGripRacing.com

Go Back   NoGripRacing Forums > General Discussion > Computech

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7 May 11, 04:32   #1
ledanek
 
ledanek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Question what's the difference between USB & USB (HID)

Lately, my Logi G27 been acting up with DiRT2 (STEAM ver)
I would set it as default controller but it would not respond unless I do a "dance" in Log Controller Profile, kill Bin Laden then, it "may work."

when I go to my Device Manager, I noticed this in my Human Interface Devices:
- Logitech G27 Racing Wheel USB
- Logitech G27 Racing Wheel USB (HID)

-is this the culprit?
-do I need both?
-which one should I delete?

advance thanks
ledanek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 May 11, 04:38   #2
brabham67
 
brabham67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Age: 39
Default

Can't be the issue. My G27 shows up the same way, but no issues in game.... aside from my inability to drive rally cars with anything other than a gamepad.....
brabham67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 May 11, 04:56   #3
DurgeDriven
 
DurgeDriven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default

HID

Quote:
Human Interface Devices such as keyboards, mice, game controllers and alphanumeric display devices.

@wiki
So most other USB devices drives, printers should not have the acronym.

I going to guess here but I think there is USB for common support and HID
for manufacturer drivers.

They use different dlls I think winusb.dll and hid.dll something similar to that.

I found turning off power management through device manager for individual usb devices can help. Their is option Allow this device to wake computer . I turn all usb and hubs wakeup off.
DurgeDriven is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7 May 11, 06:59   #4
ledanek
 
ledanek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DurgeDriven View Post
HID



So most other USB devices drives, printers should not have the acronym.

I going to guess here but I think there is USB for common support and HID
for manufacturer drivers.

They use different dlls I think winusb.dll and hid.dll something similar to that.

I found turning off power management through device manager for individual usb devices can help. Their is option Allow this device to wake computer . I turn all usb and hubs wakeup off.

I got my Logitech G15 as my wake up device.
And I did notice that my PC would wake up by itself after putting it on Sleep Mode
ledanek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 May 11, 20:09   #5
MickeyMouse
 
MickeyMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ohio, USA
Age: 27
Default

Some game controllers (gamepads, joysticks and wheels) use the separate HID entry for simulated keyboard input. I think it also has something to do with Windows being able to recognize button pushes without having to use DirectInput. In other words, it's normal. Can you be more specific about what your problem is?
MickeyMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 May 11, 03:15   #6
ledanek
 
ledanek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Default

Before I start a DiRT2 race, I would go into the Options and bind my controls for the G27
Then I would enter the race
When the race starts, all my bindings are gone, and defaults to KB.
I have steering & reverse, no accelerate/ gas.

I would go into the Logitech Game Profile and report the combine pedals.
Then back to ingame options bind my gas and brake, but no gas still, just the reverse

It takes some prom-like finger banging with key bindings before a miracle would happen, before the gas would actually work
ledanek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 May 11, 04:48   #7
MickeyMouse
 
MickeyMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ohio, USA
Age: 27
Default

Does this happen in any other games? This may be a specific issue with Dirt 2.
MickeyMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 May 11, 05:16   #8
ledanek
 
ledanek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MickeyMouse View Post
Does this happen in any other games? This may be a specific issue with Dirt 2.
appears to be DiRT2 only. I did a quick check on Shift and all functions of G27 works.

Time to troll Codemaster Forum

Thanks MM
ledanek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:19.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

www.nogripracing.com 2003 - 2014
Page generated in 0.11510 seconds with 10 queries