NoGripRacing.com

Go Back   NoGripRacing Forums > PC Racing > Project CARS

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 March 12, 04:40   #1
DurgeDriven
 
DurgeDriven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Larger Resolutions and Downsampling

I read the paragraph on this in the FXAA inject read me.

Thought I followed the instructions although I was not 100% on the
setting 29-30Hz minimum and editing downsampling rate.

Can someone run through it please.
DurgeDriven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 April 12, 12:12   #2
tjc
 
tjc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Scotland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DurgeDriven View Post
I read the paragraph on this in the FXAA inject read me.

Thought I followed the instructions although I was not 100% on the
setting 29-30Hz minimum and editing downsampling rate.

Can someone run through it please.
I`d be quite interested in learning a bit more about this too...

Anyone?

Please...?

tjc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 April 12, 17:02   #3
gears
Donated
 
gears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Higgs Boson
Age: 46
Default

pCARS has FXAA built-in. And the new nVidia drivers have FXAA built-in also. Why would you use the FXAA injector?

Or am I missing something?
gears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 April 12, 17:42   #4
DurgeDriven
 
DurgeDriven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gears View Post
pCARS has FXAA built-in. And the new nVidia drivers have FXAA built-in also. Why would you use the FXAA injector?

Or am I missing something?
Oh you do showup. :p

lol



Quote:
Using a larger resolution than your screen resolution and have it downsampled will also get rid of jaggies:
Start softMCCS and save your EDID as Raylar EDID file. Start Pheonix and open the saved EDID file. Remove the "read only" command. Switch to Block 2 and Timing. Increase H and V Active resolution to your desired. (2,0x2,0 to your original resolution). Depening on you monitor increase the Pixel clock. You need minimum 29-30HZ in CARS. Save your changed Edid again. Open MonInfo and create the inf. Open the inf and change your Downsampling resolution and save. Install the inf and restart your PC. Run CARS DX11 with your Downsampling resolution.

I followed it okay till ........" you need minimum 29-30Hz "

After 2.0x2.0 I had a refresh of 148Hz or something but in another window was 18MHz ...something similar.

Not sure which / what to adjust to have it 29/30Mhz.

P.S. Like in 20 years I have never had to make a monitor.inf.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled 1.jpg (73.2 KB, 21 views)
DurgeDriven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 April 12, 18:05   #5
Kazumi
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

I wonder how hard that is to make ingame available (for the programmers) if it isn't already.

And also how, say, 2.7x DS + FXAA compares to their MSAA implementation performance-wise (2x2 looks a bit overkill at least for playable)

Can't help you, sorry

As far as I know you have to set the vertical and horizontal frequency independently so that in the end it matches 29/30 Hz.
Kazumi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 April 12, 21:24   #6
tjc
 
tjc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Scotland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gears View Post
pCARS has FXAA built-in. And the new nVidia drivers have FXAA built-in also. Why would you use the FXAA injector?

Or am I missing something?
Don`t think the FXAA etc is fully implemented in pCARS as of yet...

There was a time when settings like "High" etc didn`t work (at all maybe?)

Hence the use of injectors...
tjc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 April 12, 23:16   #7
MickeyMouse
 
MickeyMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ohio, USA
Age: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kazumi View Post
I wonder how hard that is to make ingame available (for the programmers) if it isn't already.

And also how, say, 2.7x DS + FXAA compares to their MSAA implementation performance-wise (2x2 looks a bit overkill at least for playable)
MSAA has been around for some time. MSAA is relatively fast, but the full screen shaders so frequently used now days create artifacts, and it doesn't work at all with deferred shading (which is used in some recent AAA games), so FXAA has seen more usage lately. FXAA is simply a pixel shader effect itself, so it's pretty easy to implement and it runs well on recent hardware (faster than MSAA). The game has to be designed for FXAA, otherwise it makes everything pretty blurry unlike MSAA. If you want a technical description, check out the nVidia white paper.

Edit:
I should also mention that "injection" seems to be a hack that enable FXAA for games that don't natively support it. The quality will typically be worse than MSAA, or that of a game that actually supports it.

Last edited by MickeyMouse; 12 April 12 at 23:29.
MickeyMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 12, 08:48   #8
redi
Superator
 
redi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: On a thin crust covering a huge ball of hot molten stone whizzing through space
Age: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gears View Post
pCARS has FXAA built-in. And the new nVidia drivers have FXAA built-in also. Why would you use the FXAA injector?

Or am I missing something?
pCARS's built-in FXAA currently gives rather blurry results, the injected FXAA is much crisper. The nVidia driver FXAA could be a good alternative (saves the hassle with files), though quality and performance should be compared
redi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 12, 13:17   #9
Mahjik
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjc View Post
Don`t think the FXAA etc is fully implemented in pCARS as of yet...

There was a time when settings like "High" etc didn`t work (at all maybe?)

Hence the use of injectors...
The forum is down for maintenance at the moment so I can't grab a link; but IIRC, Griff mentioned he was in the process of reworking the in-game FXAA which will ultimately be as good (if not better) than the injector.
Mahjik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 April 12, 11:58   #10
tjc
 
tjc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Scotland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mahjik View Post
The forum is down for maintenance at the moment so I can't grab a link; but IIRC, Griff mentioned he was in the process of reworking the in-game FXAA which will ultimately be as good (if not better) than the injector.
Yeh I think I heard something about that too Mahjik...

Sounds good. Looking forward to it.
tjc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:59.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

www.nogripracing.com 2003 - 2014
Page generated in 0.10526 seconds with 11 queries