NoGripRacing.com

Go Back   NoGripRacing Forums > Modding > Track Conversion / Creation Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3 January 12, 08:24   #1
wil345
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Zwolle, The Netherlands (Holland)
Question buildings in BTB

Hi,

I'm new to the world of modding and would like to now how I can put buildings by my BTB track?
wil345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 January 12, 10:46   #2
Pizzaman
Minifreak & Muscleman
 
Pizzaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Groningen Centre of the Universe
Default

Same as any other object. use the 'objects' button.

I think you mean 'how to make them YOURSELF and use them with BTB'.
You have to make a 'mesh' (wire), put the 'material' (yexture, paint) on it,
and then use X-packer to put them in BTB, after that you can use them.
The 'X-packer.exe' comes free with BTB.

To make the mesh, you can use Google Sketchup.
Then export it, load it in X-packer ---> BTB ---> get it on your new track.

Sounds simple, but it is not. If you use a lot of mesh (poly) and big textures,
they will look nice but it makes the game run slower (each 'face' has to be rendered, put on screen)
We're here to help out though, and it's all 'do-able'. Just go for it!
Pizzaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 January 12, 14:35   #3
wil345
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Zwolle, The Netherlands (Holland)
Default

Ok I'll try it
I'll let you know if it works out

thanks
wil345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 January 12, 10:41   #4
Pizzaman
Minifreak & Muscleman
 
Pizzaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Groningen Centre of the Universe
Default

The most problems I get is with the textures.
When exporting from Sketchup they sometimes do not 'stick on the surface'.
Also, sometimes it exports more textures than the object uses.

I remove all the crap with 3DsimEd.
Now I also have started to UV-map the objects, so they use only one texture.
But that is a different story.

BTW usually I import the objects in X packer as 3DS, becasue I have trouble with the DAE format.
Might work better for you though.
Pizzaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 January 12, 11:04   #5
wil345
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Zwolle, The Netherlands (Holland)
Default

hey thanks for the tip
I'm just about to see if I can get it in BTB

BTW are you a min freak as in the old beutiful cars
wil345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 January 12, 11:41   #6
Pizzaman
Minifreak & Muscleman
 
Pizzaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Groningen Centre of the Universe
Default

Yep, I have three Minis at the moment. And MINI: I mean '100% free of any BMW parts'.
I saw a few images of the 'Bini' in the Dakar, looks like an SUV... LOL!

I have a few pics in the gallery of my cars (first pages).
I've got a load of them (wie wat bewaart die heeft wat).
Pizzaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 January 12, 12:11   #7
wil345
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Zwolle, The Netherlands (Holland)
Default

is'nt there a nother way of converting the object that does not in volve me paying 20 pound?
wil345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 January 12, 12:16   #8
wil345
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Zwolle, The Netherlands (Holland)
Default

jonge dat klinkt als muziek aan mijn oren
ik ben zelf een mini, kever en bmw isetta fan
kleine oude barrels!!!
wil345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 January 12, 14:11   #9
Pizzaman
Minifreak & Muscleman
 
Pizzaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Groningen Centre of the Universe
Default

Hahaha ik heb een Fiat 500, 3 Minis, een Ford Capri, een Fiat X1/9, een Citroen Visa en een Range Rover.
Pizzaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 January 12, 15:53   #10
wil345
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Zwolle, The Netherlands (Holland)
Default

Bastard!!!
wat een verzameling vent
echt vet
wil345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 January 12, 21:55   #11
Pizzaman
Minifreak & Muscleman
 
Pizzaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Groningen Centre of the Universe
Default

Yeah - lucky me. Just never kick the old cars out.

BTW Google is your best friend in getting the programs.
I got 3DSmax for 35 euro secondhand: Marktplaats...
Pizzaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 12, 10:29   #12
romanocwb
 
romanocwb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Brazil
Age: 34
Default

Hello!
Almost finished my track (after 5 months). But I'm having trouble to include a house built in 3DSMax. I can mount the Xpack, but nothing appears when I put the object on the track. It is an object invisible (no errors).
Have rolled the internet looking for tips, but could not solve the problem.

The house is complex. Is there a specific procedure to mount the xpack?
Someone would make the xpack for me? (sorry for this, but I'm out of options)

Images of the House (design by abpetri):


Last edited by romanocwb; 16 April 12 at 14:51.
romanocwb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 12, 21:21   #13
abpetri
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default

yes. that's it.

I'm friends with romano and he's done a terrific job buliding up and recreating a private race track (it acctually exists, here in brazil, and we're used to do some track days there, pretty awesome).

There is a house there, that works as the race track's "pits" in and out of the track.

I've modeled the hole house in rhino and exported in mesh to 3DMax. I've cleaned up the model and left all the materials organized with each texture. These are independent renders made in another tool, but it should look like this in the games (gtr evo, rfactor etc).

We're having much trouble making the Xpack, so would be GREAT if anyone could spare some time to help us! When the final version of the track is finished, we should be able to share with you guys, i'm pretty sure you'll like the track design, it's pretty tight and tricky, with a lot of weight transfer spots.

this is a video made in the track, in a stock ford focus 2.0 (stock engine, stock tires, stock everything, justo for fun testing)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p6dswtIQVzw


appreciate the help fellas!

Last edited by abpetri; 13 April 12 at 21:25. Reason: add link
abpetri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 12, 22:05   #14
yetisaj
 
yetisaj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK http://yetisaj.blogspot.com/
Age: 31
Default

Looks like a great little circuit. Love a bit of Sublime too haha.

When I first started track building all my buildings in my tracks were created externally and ported into BTB. I had some that often disappeared and i realised it was a unit scaling issue. Built in millimetres and imported in metres makes for a very large building that cant be seen in BTB.

When you create the Xpack and import the .3ds file try rescaling it to 0.001 on x,y & z and see what happens.

Really what you want to do is export the track using BTB and use 3dsimed or 3dsmax to position buildings then export the GMTs from there. For this track either way of exporting it (BTB or 3dsmax) doesn't really matter but when you start building large tracks BTB will have memory issues.
yetisaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 12, 23:46   #15
yetisaj
 
yetisaj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK http://yetisaj.blogspot.com/
Age: 31
Default

I'd also look at reducing the polycount on those fuel tanks. They look very high.
yetisaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 April 12, 10:47   #16
Pizzaman
Minifreak & Muscleman
 
Pizzaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Groningen Centre of the Universe
Default

If you're having much trouble I could try to get it into an X-pack for you.
I do have 3DSmax8, sometimes it gives crap between different builds though.
Even a Max8 version a few months younger: he could load mine, but I couldn't load his scenes!

What Yetisay says happened to me too. Got a firetruck the size of Mount Everest.
But if you know the dimensions of the building, rescaling should be easy: it is all in metric meters.
And yes BTB has memory issues. I couldn't stick in 1200 movable tyres, dammit!
Pizzaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 April 12, 14:15   #17
abpetri
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default

Thank's for the tips guys!

Hey Pizzaman, would be GREAT if you could help us with that.
Do you have Skype or an email adress, so i can send you a .zip containing the files?
I could send you the full 3dmax file (with the hole house, with the materials already grouped) along with the textures i tried using.
Acctually the only important textures would be the more specific ones such as the rock walls, the rock floor and the roof. the rest would be free to choose as fit.

I'll even try to export some parts with less polys (as suggested by yetisaj), so the model gets lighter.

Apreciate the help you guys are providing, since we couldn't get any custom support from BTB itself.
abpetri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 April 12, 07:20   #18
Pizzaman
Minifreak & Muscleman
 
Pizzaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Groningen Centre of the Universe
Default

I'll send you a PM with my email.

I dunno if the 3DSmax file would be any good.
Sometimes the versions conflict even if you also have 3DSmax8.
Don't worry about textures, I'll just UV map it so you can paint it any color you like.

I'll need an OBJ file, or 3DS, or something that I can import into 3DSmax.
Rest is easy, done it a zillion times.
Pizzaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 April 12, 23:46   #19
abpetri
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default

just answered you pm.

sending you the email! thanks a lot mate!!!
abpetri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 June 12, 13:01   #20
KieferDJW
 
KieferDJW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

Hi abpetri,

if you still need some help with the xpack I could take a look over it.
A house for the pit's is a great idea who might be used for some other tracks...
cheers
KieferDJW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 September 12, 17:17   #21
cesniper
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Spain
Default

have you make sure the textures are the right size for BTB? I mean 512x512 or basically power of 2
cesniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 September 12, 17:46   #22
Pizzaman
Minifreak & Muscleman
 
Pizzaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Groningen Centre of the Universe
Default

I'm stillstrufggling with it, this thing is complicated.
It is as difficult as half a car.
Pizzaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:54.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

www.nogripracing.com 2003 - 2014
Page generated in 0.13415 seconds with 10 queries