NoGripRacing.com

Go Back   NoGripRacing Forums > PC Racing > NASCAR Racing 2003 Season

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 26 May 16, 03:58   #151
Guimengo
Uploader
 
Guimengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

The link with the downloads now includes a Tracks folder, where I've uploaded some traditional tracks, some not-as-easy to find tracks along with others that have been made GTP-compatible. The names have been structured properly, the track itself is the same you'd find elsewhere (no mismatches).
Guimengo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 28 May 16, 00:07   #152
Guimengo
Uploader
 
Guimengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

Guide to make the game look its best:


Go to your NR 2003 installation folder, and open the Core.ini file with Notepad. Then look for these parameters and enter the values below:
  • CacheSize=14194304
  • MaxBlockSize=524288
  • PoolSize=524288
Then save.

Next, find Rend_dxg.ini. Locate and alter the following:
  • AnisotropicLevel=0
  • TextureSetSize=-1
Then save.

Next, go to the players folder, and look for your player.ini file in your active profile folder. Locate and alter the following:
  • car_detail=2
  • draw_ahead_distance=100
  • draw_behind_distance=100
  • enable_CarMegaShader=1
  • enable_ShadowVolumes=1
  • render_speed_weight=0
  • texture_quality=100
  • import_textures_with_compression=0
Then save.

Now, run the game normally. It's good to revisit these files to make sure the game hasn't changed any back.


Note - Unlike the video recommends, in your graphics card control panel, set the items below as:
- Frames Ahead: 1
- V-Sync disabled

Last edited by Guimengo; 26 January 17 at 21:23.
Guimengo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 5 June 16, 16:10   #153
nezeiges
Uploader
 
nezeiges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Den Helder (The Netherlands)
Age: 61
Default

Upgraded from win 7 to win 10 and now I 'm having some trouble with GTP.

Problem Solved: Went back to win 7

Last edited by nezeiges; 6 June 16 at 10:48.
nezeiges is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 27 June 16, 15:48   #154
GTP_Furinkazen
FRM Furi Race Mods
 
GTP_Furinkazen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Default

After 5 years without it, finally I can get it back Thanks guys for this work keeping NR2003 and GTP alive. Shame years ago I lost my Le Mans 2010 skin set
GTP_Furinkazen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 28 June 16, 03:19   #155
Guimengo
Uploader
 
Guimengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

Glad you're back going! Sorry I've never come across such skin set or I would have worked on the names, ratings, and included it in the downloads .
Guimengo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 26 January 17, 07:48   #156
Guimengo
Uploader
 
Guimengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

I refined the first post, adding more detailed installation steps as well as a write-up on each car. Hopefully everyone should be able to play .
Guimengo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 26 January 17, 20:27   #157
Guimengo
Uploader
 
Guimengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

Guys, I created a Steam group for Redline GTP:
http://steamcommunity.com/groups/RedlineGTP
Guimengo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 26 January 17, 20:27   #158
Guimengo
Uploader
 
Guimengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

How to make NR 2003 tracks compatible with GTP

This is available as one of the downloads from the link above. How to make a regular NR 2003 track be GTP-compatible, edited from Quattro's post at srmz.net:

Step 1: Copy the track folder from Nascar Racing 2003/tracks folder (or the .zip file of the track you want to install) into the Redline GTP/trackD folder.

Step 2: Copy the 5 files into the track folder. They are included in the downloads of the first post, but can also be copied from another GTP track folder. The 5 files are:
fast.gtp.jag
fast.gtp.maz
fast.gtp.sau
fast.gtp.sim
fast.gtp.toy

Step 3: The last step involves adding two sections to the track.ini file that's in the track's folder.

Open the track.ini file using notepad, and you will see several sections pertaining to the track's parameters concerning tire grip for mods, green flag drop region, pit stall locations and so forth. You can enter the following information easily into the track.ini anywhere except before the first section or after the pitting stall info at the end of the file. Copy and paste the following somewhere in the middle of the file between existing sections: cup, cts, pta, etc.

Code:

[ track_gtp ]
track_tire_heat = 0.97
track_tire_wear = 1.30 ;> 1.0 means more wear, i.e. 2.0 is twice normal wear, 0.5 is half normal wear
track_tire_wear_loss = 0.11 ; percentage of grip lost at full tire wear
track_tire_wear_exp = 1.05 ; > 1.0 gives a bigger fall off later in run < 1.0 gives a bigger fall off early in run
track_asphalt_grip = 1.06

[ ai_track_gtp ]
ai_accel_modifier = 0.88 ; acceleration grip efficiency
ai_decel_modifier = 1.00 ; braking grip efficiency
ai_fuel_use = 0.99 ; > 1.0 = more fuel consumed
ai_grip_modifier = 1.035 ; > 1.0 = more grip
ai_drag_modifier = 1.03 ; > 1.0 = more drag, which is slower
ai_line_modifier = 1.0 ; dangerous hack, don't use unless you are a trained professional
ai_qual_modifier = 1.0 ; > 1.0 = faster during qualifying
ai_tire_wear_left = 0.24 ; left tire wear adjuster for ai
ai_tire_wear_right = 0.20 ; right tire wear adjuster for ai
ai_pacing_distance = 2.0 ; car lengths behind while pacing
ai_bunching_distance = 1.9 ; car lengths behind while bunching for start
ai_drafting_distance = 1.19 ; car lengths behind while racing
ai_panic_decel = 5 ; G's of extra deceleration inducing panic
ai_dlongpad_scale = 3 ; scales padding in braking zones (smaller = more scaling)
ai_dlat_pad = 0.82
ai_squeeze_pcnt = 0.00
ai_wall_offset = 100
ai_inverse_slipcurve_k = 0.75 ; how much slip angle AI need to corner. smaller = more, more = increased drag

After you do this and save the track.ini file for that track. You can now get into the mod and select the track. If the track will still not load (it should), then add this:
[ gtp ]
record_lap_time =
record_holder =

Last edited by Guimengo; 27 January 17 at 21:31.
Guimengo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 27 January 17, 21:59   #159
Highbank
Premium Member
 
Highbank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Riverside, California USA
Default

This is handy and very appreciated sir, thank-you
Highbank is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 28 January 17, 16:59   #160
katawaran
 
katawaran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: near Solitude Ring, Germany
Default

Thanks Gui,
a very good tutorial and big thanks for your sources.
I hope GTP will be alive.

Greetings
Frank
katawaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 29 January 17, 23:42   #161
kunc
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default

I've got NR2003 and GTP up and running in Windows 10. However, while I'm able to improve the graphics using nVidia Inspector for NR2003, I can't get the settings to take affect on my GTP install ... specifically Antialiasing (jaggies).

The nVidia Inspector profile points to the NR2003.exe. The same one that's in GTP. I've also added the gtp_launcher.exe to the Inspector profile, but it still won't take affect.

Any ideas? Or is the only way to improve graphics through the method described in post 152 (above)?

Thanks in advance.
kunc is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 30 January 17, 02:43   #162
Guimengo
Uploader
 
Guimengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

I've actually had the opposite happen. GTP gets the eye candy while nr 2003 needed numerous tweaks. I found the launcher's graphics setting tool excellent at getting it set, with only minor tweaks done later.

The steps on the earlier post do work, so that should help. I also couldn't get the control panel to differentiate the different .exes but you can see the visual quality from my gtp videos.

If you did anything special to get the game and mod running in w10, do post. I'm sure it can be useful to someone .
Guimengo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 30 January 17, 15:29   #163
kunc
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default

First of all, I had full versions of NR2003 and GTP backed up from Windows XP and copied onto my new system. I renamed them NR2003_XP and GTP_XP.
After I installed NR2003, I just pointed the shortcut that was created to the NR2003_XP installation.
That didn't work at first because that install had the no-cd version of the NR2003.exe.
I tried almost all of the work-arounds, but couldn't get it to work. So I replaced that .exe with the one created from my new install. Only downside is that I have to have the cd in the tray. Works both in compatibility mode or without.
Basically the same for my GTP install. I ran the installer to another folder, copied the gtp_launcher.exe into the GTP_XP folder, and everything seems to work ... except that I can't get the nVidia Inspector setting to take affect on the GTP install!

I've added all of the following .exe files that are contained in my GTP folder to the same nVidia Inspector profile that I'm using for NR2003:
1. gtp_launcher.exe (the executable that launches the GTP shell)
2. GTPserverNight.exe (the executable for night races on theserver)
3. GTPserverDay.exe (the executable for day races on the server)
4. NR2003.exe (it's in my folder, but isn't needed for GTP to run)
5. server.exe (the executable for NR2003 races on the server)

nVidia Inspector apparently doesn't apply my settings to any of these files ... I'm out of ideas.

Last edited by kunc; 30 January 17 at 20:38.
kunc is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 31 January 17, 01:27   #164
kunc
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default

Problem Solved! Found this while searching the web (either here or at srmz):

"The GTP mod works by copying the NR2003.exe, editing it for the options selected in the loader, running the game from that copy, then deleting it on exit."

The name of the file is TMP.exe ... and it is indeed created in the GTP folder after hitting "Start" in the GTP shell. I added that file to my nVidia Inspector profile and it worked!

Thanks to the person that posted that ... it was in a discussion about disabling DEP.
kunc is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 31 January 17, 14:51   #165
katawaran
 
katawaran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: near Solitude Ring, Germany
Thumbs up

Great to see active GTP drivers
katawaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 14 March 17, 21:35   #166
pawgy7
 
pawgy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Kent ohio
Age: 82
Default

Just did a fresh install of Nr2003 from my disc and di an update and installed a no cd. Everything is fine for the original game bur when i installed GTP it will only run from the redline gtp start and it always asks for the disc. How do i get it to run with no cd since I already have the no cd exe in my game?
pawgy7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 15 March 17, 10:44   #167
BrunoB
 
BrunoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Jutland
Age: 72
Default

It looks like you are not alone about problems running the GTP mod with a No-CD.
I think most people running this mod ARE able to run it with the No-CD (incl me) but some like Kunc in the other thread have to use a virtual image instead of the No-CD to get rid of the demand for an orig CD in the drawer.

If your system (PC+Windows) is such kind of stubborn system you probably have to go the virtual image way.
http://www.nogripracing.com/forum/sh...d.php?t=362307
BrunoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 15 March 17, 14:34   #168
Guimengo
Uploader
 
Guimengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

I remember seeing and having a noCD GTP launcher. Anyway, if pawgy can get an emulator that also works with SecuROM like Alcohol, I can send him my .iso.
Guimengo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 15 March 17, 15:58   #169
BrunoB
 
BrunoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Jutland
Age: 72
Default

I cant remember if it has been asked before - but this GTP/No-CD issue is not something introduced with Win10?
Right?
I mean Im using FSBs No-CD without any problems - but Im running Win7
BrunoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 19 March 17, 20:25   #170
GTP_Furinkazen
FRM Furi Race Mods
 
GTP_Furinkazen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Default

I've installed the game and GTP, and continually get a CTD every time I click drive..
GTP_Furinkazen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 19 March 17, 22:23   #171
Guimengo
Uploader
 
Guimengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

What is your system and what steps did you follow?
Guimengo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 19 March 17, 22:26   #172
SwiftyOne
Premium Member
 
SwiftyOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Norwich (England)
Age: 61
Default

The GTP mod should be installed separately from NR2003
SwiftyOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 20 March 17, 01:47   #173
GTP_Furinkazen
FRM Furi Race Mods
 
GTP_Furinkazen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guimengo View Post
What is your system and what steps did you follow?
Working now, appears my seperate install did not like the GTP No CD patch, using it with CD and it works fine.

Surprised how my FPS is struggling though, I remember the mod being graphically quite intense but not this much....

As a measure:

Original in-game cup mod: 60-100fps
Typical BR or DMR mod: 40-70fps
GTP: 25-45 fps!
GTP_Furinkazen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 22 March 17, 22:33   #174
BrunoB
 
BrunoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Jutland
Age: 72
Default

Something must be completelyu fu*** up in your system and/or your GTP install.
Even on my old Win7 (i7-920/HD7950) system I can run with highest settings and about 60-70 fps in GTP.

Tuning NR2003/GTP for higest graphical quality in Vista/W7
http://srmz.net/index.php?showtopic=7160
BrunoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 25 June 17, 10:44   #175
katawaran
 
katawaran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: near Solitude Ring, Germany
Default

I'm sorry. My GTP server (fmrb.selfhost.eu) is offline, because my internet provider cuts me every 30 min. Some minutes later i'm online again with an other WAN IP
If i can sort this out, i will be back again
katawaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 25 June 17, 16:59   #176
Guimengo
Uploader
 
Guimengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

That's very nice of you to maintain that server. As far as I know, you're the only person providing one .
Guimengo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 20 August 17, 09:35   #177
katawaran
 
katawaran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: near Solitude Ring, Germany
Default

Online again.
Look at my server screen to get the IP and PORT.
I can not guarantee alway the same IP

Maybe we can make a special server like using the Mazda GTP physics with the Indycar Mod and racing on road courses, maybe

Frank
katawaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 21 August 17, 01:02   #178
Guimengo
Uploader
 
Guimengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

The link takes to a standard landing page, but it's nice you're putting it back up! I think the easiest would be to have stock/common content, so the regular GTP mod with the Redline released tracks such as Suzuka, Spa, Silverstone, and Magny Cours.

I'm sorry I can't drive or help publicize this, I don't have my desktop setup and have no short-term plans to get it going again. Once I do, I'll see how I can help better.
Guimengo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 21 August 17, 18:48   #179
BrunoB
 
BrunoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Jutland
Age: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guimengo View Post
I think the easiest would be to have stock/common content, so the regular GTP mod with the Redline released tracks such as Suzuka, Spa, Silverstone, and Magny Cours.
+1
Its your own server Kataw - but if you want somebody to join then the regular GTP 1.1 mod is a must(mandatory ).
What tracks is up to you. If you select unpopular tracks nobody will join.
Im about letting my iRacing membership running out sometime in november and will probably try to join your GTP server at this time - hehe in my Sauber and not in the mentioned mediocre Mazda
BrunoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 27 August 17, 11:38   #180
katawaran
 
katawaran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: near Solitude Ring, Germany
Default

Sorry, please look at http://www.fmrb.selfhost.eu/server
The list of the tracks will come . . . please be patient, my time is rare.
katawaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 24 September 17, 11:25   #181
katawaran
 
katawaran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: near Solitude Ring, Germany
Default

So, i did the easy way for first: I installed all track and car sets from the FSB LeMans page. More can be installed.
So all FSB drivers or all interested drivers can join using this files.
If you are new to NR2003/GTP feel free to follow the link in the first post.
A big thank to Gui !!!
katawaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 24 September 17, 19:39   #182
Guimengo
Uploader
 
Guimengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

Guimengo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:02.
Home - Top

Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

www.nogripracing.com 2003 - 2017
Page generated in 0.08578 seconds with 11 queries