NoGripRacing.com

Go Back   NoGripRacing Forums > PC Racing > GT Legends

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 19 April 17, 18:30   #1
mentalextra
 
mentalextra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default Installing on windows 7?

I'm am having to migrate from my beloved xp machine to a windows 7 machine and I was wondering what the current position is on installng GTL. I've read various threads about the original CD not being suitable or downloading off the web. What should I do? Also, is there any way I can carry over my saved games and/or mods/tracks to my new install, as there is a lot!
mentalextra is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 19 April 17, 18:41   #2
KDiesel
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Default

Get it from Steam, itīs free, just put online key when installation ask it.
KDiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 19 April 17, 18:43   #3
mentalextra
 
mentalextra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KDiesel View Post
Get it from Steam, itīs free, just put online key when installation ask it.
Is my original game cd any good?
mentalextra is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 19 April 17, 21:51   #4
Jack Straw II
Premium Member
 
Jack Straw II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Prescott, Arizona
Age: 68
Default

I was in the same position with my old XP machine. The new computer running W7 presented no challenges with GTL aside from having to get on the Steam bandwagon.

I don't think most of the original CDs will work properly hence Steam. On my new installation I had to use the unlock cheat and re-download a million mods. It was a pain but all the hassle was worth it.
Jack Straw II is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 19 April 17, 23:19   #5
David Wright
 
David Wright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mentalextra View Post
I'm am having to migrate from my beloved xp machine to a windows 7 machine and I was wondering what the current position is on installng GTL. I've read various threads about the original CD not being suitable or downloading off the web. What should I do? Also, is there any way I can carry over my saved games and/or mods/tracks to my new install, as there is a lot!
Do not try to install GT Legends from your CD. The starforce copy protection is NOT compatible with Win7 (or later) and will do bad things as I understand it.

If you install Steam and still have your online code for GTL - of the format

XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX

Then you can get a free copy from Steam. In Steam look at the top of the screen for Games (in between friends and help). Click on it and choose activate a product on Steam. Enter your on-line key without the dashes.

If you don't have the online code then its pretty cheap on Steam anyway.

You can copy tracks over to the new installation. Save games could be transferred in the past if you registered on-line but I don't know if they will work today. Copying mods over from your GTL install is more difficult as they will put files in several locations such as the sounds folder. The possibility of errors would seem high so probably best to re-install each mod individually.
David Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 19 April 17, 23:43   #6
DucFreak
 
DucFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lisboa, Portugal www.gtlw.co.uk
Age: 42
Default

I'll reinforce what David said: do NOT try to install GT Legends from your CD.
The starforce copy protection in it is NOT compatible with Win7 (or later).

If you want to install GT-Legends on Win7/Win8/Win10, then please take a moment to read the info on this thread, it should work as sort of a guide:

http://www.nogripracing.com/forum/sh...d.php?t=344840


DucFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 20 April 17, 00:06   #7
DurgeDriven
Premium Member
 
DurgeDriven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mentalextra View Post
What should I do? Also, is there any way I can carry over my saved games and/or mods/tracks to my new install, as there is a lot!
Depends

Did you save all the compressed mods in a archive ?

Does your HDD have more then 1 partition ? ie: D:\ E:\

If not you will have to backup all GTL files and folders to either another HDD or external storage

To save Jack's pain always keep detailed archives of everything you download
and make sub folders to divide it all.

Even if you had a partitioned drive it would be wise to still back everything up
before you swap operating systems so you can perform a full reformat


I agree with David for rest


========================

OT

When starting from a blank page the easiest by far imo is to use JSGME and GTL Essentials and pack everything else for JSGME



You then Highlight 100 mods and click the right arrow and go make coffee



Repacking everything to work seamlessly is no different as Jack said about re-downloading and manual installs....

" It was a pain but all the hassle was worth it "

Difference is with JSGME you have auto install backup and restore

Then next time you need to redo a full GTL or make a second or third folder you won't have to extract 100's of archives all over again.........the JSGME mods become you archive
DurgeDriven is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 20 April 17, 07:56   #8
mentalextra
 
mentalextra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default

Thank you everybody for the help and advice, I have a better idea of what needs to happen now

One last question. My GTL install is on a secondary disk, not the boot disk. Would I be able to just remove the hd from the XP machine and add it as a secondary drive to the windows 7 machine?
mentalextra is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 20 April 17, 14:26   #9
DurgeDriven
Premium Member
 
DurgeDriven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mentalextra View Post
Thank you everybody for the help and advice, I have a better idea of what needs to happen now

One last question. My GTL install is on a secondary disk, not the boot disk. Would I be able to just remove the hd from the XP machine and add it as a secondary drive to the windows 7 machine?
You could do that though the older slower drive may impact on system read/write speed.

Try installing windows 10 on a Sata Gen 1, it's like watching paint dry ....... lol

Better I think to add it just to copy your GTL and any other folders you need to a partition on the W7 drive then put it back in the XP machine

That way the XP tower still has a OS
DurgeDriven is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 20 April 17, 17:53   #10
mentalextra
 
mentalextra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default

There was mention of a free download from steam if you have an online key, I can't seem to find it only the straight purchase of the game?
mentalextra is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 20 April 17, 18:41   #11
David Wright
 
David Wright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK
Default

As posted before

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Wright View Post
In Steam look at the top of the screen for Games (in between friends and help). Click on it and choose activate a product on Steam. Enter your on-line key without the dashes.
David Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 20 April 17, 19:08   #12
mentalextra
 
mentalextra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Wright View Post
As posted before
Sorry I'm probably doing something wrong but I still can't find it?
mentalextra is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 20 April 17, 22:31   #13
DucFreak
 
DucFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lisboa, Portugal www.gtlw.co.uk
Age: 42
Default

It seems my previous post (#6 above) was ignored, for whatever reason.

Once again, if you want to install GT-Legends on Win7/Win8/Win10, the following link should help you out, as it is as close as a step-by-step guide you can probably get:

http://www.nogripracing.com/forum/sh...d.php?t=344840
DucFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 21 April 17, 01:58   #14
DurgeDriven
Premium Member
 
DurgeDriven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default

I more worried about his XP to W7 transition and backup lol

If he owns the CD and does not want Steam I don't see why he needs to.

I still don't use any of my steam gmotor as any I do run I run offline only
and use JSGME and OVGME to pack everything which really needs manual folders.


You can install your CD and easy lose Starforce a few ways but you can't talk about it here.


Which is sort of funny, copyright differences aside people use the same GTR2 NOCD to run warez copies too.

People rip copies of GTR2 from their Steam folders and crack it for offline ?
I don't see why GTL must be alien a decade on, ridiculous
DurgeDriven is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 21 April 17, 08:32   #15
rookiedaz
Mr.Buggerit
 
rookiedaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cheltenham,England
Age: 44
Default

Install from Steam, once that is done you can remove from the steam library and run as a separate entity in it's own right as if the no cd had been used anyway, saves running through steam, and then just add the tracks and mods across from the other drive.....
rookiedaz is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:05.
Home - Top

Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

www.nogripracing.com 2003 - 2017
Page generated in 0.06007 seconds with 10 queries