NoGripRacing.com

Go Back   NoGripRacing Forums > PC Racing > GTR2

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 12 August 17, 10:03   #1
golfer4588
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Default GTR2 setup problems

Hi guys, I was hoping someone could help me with a problem Iím having with GTR2 which I purchased from Steam a few days ago?

When I try and open GTR2, I get this message,

Error GTR2 1.1000 has crashed
Please submit the file
UserData\Log\Minidump\GTR2_1.1000-20170810-122657-10732
dmp
along with a description of what you think could have caused the crash
to SimBin Error GTR2 1.1000 has crashed

I have searched for the file as requested but canít find it.
Iím pretty useless with computers so Iím probably doing something daft!


Any help would be very much appreciated.
golfer4588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12 August 17, 10:29   #2
DurgeDriven
 
DurgeDriven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default

1. Windows Explorer open STEAM\steamapps\common

2. Copy the GTR 2 - FIA GT Racing Game folder outside of Steam to somewhere you can run it.

3. Download Digital patch

http://www.nogripracing.com/details.php?filenr=2101

Run patch setup and point it to the new GTR2 folder

4. Download NOCD , copy to new GTR2 overwrite GTR2.exe

http://www.nogripracing.com/details.php?filenr=2282

You may have set set admin and compatibility mode on GTR2.exe and GTR2config.exe.......... depends on OS / setup

5. Run GTR2config.exe, set resolution , Run GTR2.exe


Further you can use 4GB patch so GTR2 will use 4GB memory

http://www.ntcore.com/4gb_patch.php
DurgeDriven is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12 August 17, 10:50   #3
golfer4588
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Default

Hi, thanks for that but it's all another language to me.

I'll see if any of my mates can help me try what you suggested.

Thanks again.
golfer4588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12 August 17, 12:42   #4
golfer4588
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Default

Thank you so much, I’m in!

Just need to figure out how to be able to get the Hethel Test Track and Lotus Elise Sport 220.
Downloaded the Hethel wordpad and saved it to desktop but no idea what to do with it?
I’ve never played a single computer game in my life, let alone a race sim.

All this is to learn the Hethel track in a Lotus Elise Sport 220 as I’m going for the day in a few weeks.
Never done anything like that either!

Thanks again for all the help
golfer4588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 13 August 17, 00:25   #5
syhlif32
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: South of Brazil
Age: 59
Default

you do need to have as a minimum a simple understanding of file structures to install tracks and cars!
Get a file manager like freecommander or TotalCommander.
they got two file windows which makes the task easier.
Find the GTR2 folder in one panel of your chosen file commander.
Click on the GTR2 folder and you will see a number of folders and files.
The important folder for you are Gamedata
In the other panel open the file you downloaded Hethel Test Track
that is likely a zip or rar file? Click on the file it will then open up and you will see a folder likely called GameData and maybe a readme.txt file/
Select the gamedata folder and copy to the GTR2 Gamedata folder
Do the same with the car you downloaded.
Bow if you do not see a GameData folder but the name of the track.
Then click on the GTR2/ Gamedata folder.
you will now see a folder named location! Click on that and you will see a number of track names like Anderstorp and the rest of the base racks.
Now just copy the Hethel folder into the location folder and the track is ready to use.

If the Car you downloaded does not have a GameData folder but just the car folder copy that folder into the Team folder.

It is quite easy and no reason to be intimidated by it.
Most Mods and track does include the GameData folder.
syhlif32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 14 August 17, 09:47   #6
golfer4588
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Default

Thank you for the help.

I’ve got as far as opening the track in the second window in TotalCommander but when I click on it I only get a notepad document?
Have I downloaded the correct thing?

http://www.nogripracing.com/details.php?filenr=43319
golfer4588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 14 August 17, 13:10   #7
syhlif32
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: South of Brazil
Age: 59
Default

Just downloaded the track and there are a fault in the folder on this track.
When you unpack the folder you get another folder named HethelLotus
Click on that too
And you get a folder and 7 files.
Copy the folder TesttrackLotus to GTR2\Gamedata\Location
(In Totalcomander open the Location folder)
Then also copy the two .gtr file to the Location\TesttrackLotus folder.
TesttrackLotus.gtr
TestTrackLotusMap.gtr

Little unusual that NeelJ made a packing mistake as his tracks normally works right of the bat.
Little tricky installation for your first track!

Tried only a couple of rounds on the track it is a nice looking track.
Let me know if this works for you or I can repack it and send you a PM with a download link
syhlif32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 14 August 17, 14:16   #8
golfer4588
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Default

I'm really not sure what you mean?
When I click on the download link, all that happens is a wordpad doc opens?
golfer4588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 14 August 17, 16:27   #9
syhlif32
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: South of Brazil
Age: 59
Default

You should get a file called: Hethel Test Track v1.0 by NeelJ.rar
I just tested again when you open the rar file you will see a folder called 'HethelLotus'
Drop that into the GTR 2 location folder that works easier than what I described in post #5
Not sure why you get a wordpad file?
You should have the track in your download folder!
Below is a link with the track as a zip file maybe it will work better for you.
Just unzip and copy to your location folder.

https://mega.nz/#!oWIQkAQL!brSlWuDfw...JDE2Qm0k28Bk7E
syhlif32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 14 August 17, 18:41   #10
golfer4588
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Default

We're getting closer!
Hethel now appears in game but when I select the track and car, clicking continue turns the game off?
golfer4588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 14 August 17, 19:57   #11
syhlif32
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: South of Brazil
Age: 59
Default

make sure you got those two .gtr files in the track folder.
TesttrackLotus.gtr
TestTrackLotusMap.gtr

it ctd for me too until i copied them over.
syhlif32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 14 August 17, 20:21   #12
dartguy
 
dartguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Louisville
Age: 46
Default

Make sure to run GTR2 Config.exe, or something like that. It will let you set your game to match your monitor's resolution.
dartguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 16 August 17, 07:16   #13
golfer4588
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Default

Thanks guys, got the track up and running.

I tried to use an xbox 360 wireless controller but for some reason most of the buttons don't work?
golfer4588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 17 August 17, 09:42   #14
harvestmouse
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default

So you can't get it to configure? With a 360 controller you won't get a very good feel of the car I'm afraid.
harvestmouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 19:31.
Home - Top

Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

www.nogripracing.com 2003 - 2017
Page generated in 0.05424 seconds with 10 queries