NoGripRacing.com

Go Back   NoGripRacing Forums > PC Racing > Richard Burns Rally

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 18 January 11, 20:33   #1
moschum
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default Game crashes to desktop after intro vids - 'generic application error' PLEASE help!

im going nuts.

please please help.

dont know why, but after all the intro vids it just keeps crashing back to desktop, with an error, subject 'richard burns rally - directx9' - and it says

'generic application error, enable debug output for detailed information. rbr will now exit.'

i mean wtf?

my specs: windows 7 64bit, 6 gig ram, i7 930, ati hd5850, dx11, latest video drivers.

i mean why is it doing this? i cant believe i cant play the game! please please anyone help, i cant believe this is happening.
moschum is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 19 January 11, 01:11   #2
wad53
 
wad53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hervey Bay, Australia
Age: 68
Default

Have you set your graphics resolution to match your monitor resolution?

Open up your Richard Burns Rally.ini with notepad, down the bottom are settings for xRes and YRes. If you are using a widescreen monitor, you need to change these.

I've had my RBR crash with some incorrect resolutions.

Maybe not your problem, but worth checking.
wad53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 19 January 11, 09:13   #3
Tatino
Uploader
 
Tatino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Default

Maybe I'm writing an useless tip, but are you sure that DirectX 9.0.c are correctly installed on your OS?
Tatino is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 19 January 11, 17:06   #4
Kazumi
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

did it run before on that system? if not delete richardburnsrally.ini and let it create a new one by using RBR startup.exe (the normal set-up, check if it lists 5800 series graphics card and some "normal" available resolutions)

and as wad53 sayd try it in windows mode to start.
in the mentioned richardburnsrally.ini find line

Fullscreen = false
Kazumi is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 29 August 17, 18:05   #5
KulibobCZ
 
KulibobCZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Prague / Praha, Czech republic
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wad53 View Post
Have you set your graphics resolution to match your monitor resolution?

Open up your Richard Burns Rally.ini with notepad, down the bottom are settings for xRes and YRes. If you are using a widescreen monitor, you need to change these.

I've had my RBR crash with some incorrect resolutions.

Maybe not your problem, but worth checking.
That worked just fine, thanks man!
KulibobCZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 19:17.
Home - Top

Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

www.nogripracing.com 2003 - 2017
Page generated in 0.03997 seconds with 11 queries