NoGripRacing.com

Go Back   NoGripRacing Forums > PC Racing > GTR2 > GTR2 Hotlaps

Old 9 September 10, 13:11   #1
CarlitosF1

Question Gearing for slow hairpins in GT1 cars

Hi everyone, been struggling to find my best laptime in Donington GP, I'm a noob, and so far I can't go any faster than 1.27.1 with the Murcielago.

I came across this video of an alien laptime, 1.24.7 (alien to me anyway!) and noticed this guy is only reducing to 2nd gear in the hairpins. Now, isn't it supposed to be best to always set up your car so that you take the slowest turn of the track in 1st? Do you use 1st in this track's hairpins anyway?

Also, do you make 4th 5th and 6th gradually shorter in your gearing? I know it's supposed to be a good idea in high powered F1 single seaters, but I'm clueless about GT cars.

Last edited by CX650; 9 September 10 at 21:58.
CarlitosF1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 September 10, 15:57   #2
m0ng0l

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlitosF1 View Post
isn't it supposed to be best to always set up your car so that you take the slowest turn of the track in 1st? ...
Not when is gives you too much wheelspin. Also, if the 1st is so short that it only gives you a fraction of a second of acceleration before you need to upshift, then it's better to avoid it.

I set the 6th to suit the fastest part of a track. I like to be on the brakes just moments before the Revs would peak. The rest of the gears spread evenly. The purpose is to keep the engine withinh optimum revs through the gears. But the track layout may force you to alter your gears.

Last edited by m0ng0l; 9 September 10 at 16:18.
m0ng0l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 September 10, 16:37   #3
jonathan49000

Yes and watch on wich rpm the max power is. It's not usefull to change gear many rpm after.
jonathan49000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 September 10, 16:55   #4
Lantern Rouge

Quote:
Do you use 1st in this track's hairpins anyway?