NoGripRacing.com

Go Back   NoGripRacing Forums > PC Racing > NFS : Shift 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 9 April 11, 05:03   #1
grandsprix
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Default Trackside Objects/Crowd Remover...anyone tried yet?

Anyone tried this yet? Any ill effects?


http://www.virtualr.net/need-for-spe...crowd-remover/
grandsprix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 April 11, 05:09   #2
scca1981
 
scca1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Age: 33
Default

Yes I use the object removed (keep crowd, can't stand all those fake billboards and junk) and its working here no major issues so far on the handful of tracks i've tested except some pop-in @ Laguna. Make sure when installing any of those the extracted folder move to your main shift2 directory and run the bat. (of course you should back up your track folder just incase something goes wrong).
scca1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 April 11, 15:32   #3
pabig93
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

I can't Install it because when I start the bat it says NFSSInjector.exe has a problem and stops working, I also tried running as administrator as i have Vista...
pabig93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 April 11, 16:03   #4
4ph3x
 
4ph3x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Default

I think it only works with unpacked game. Installed it over unpacked, no result...
4ph3x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 April 11, 16:06   #5
NVIDIAGeek
 
NVIDIAGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4ph3x View Post
I think it only works with unpacked game. Installed it over unpacked, no result...
Game doesn't even run on unpacked, right? So all these mods are for packed S2U.
NVIDIAGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 April 11, 16:19   #6
gears
Donated
 
gears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Higgs Boson
Age: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scca1981 View Post
Yes I use the object removed (keep crowd, can't stand all those fake billboards and junk) and its working here no major issues so far on the handful of tracks i've tested except some pop-in @ Laguna. Make sure when installing any of those the extracted folder move to your main shift2 directory and run the bat. (of course you should back up your track folder just incase something goes wrong).
Yeah I'm running the track side objects removed also (kept crowd).

No issues and it gave a few extra fps.
gears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 April 11, 17:37   #7
edubz123
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chicago USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scca1981 View Post
except some pop-in @ Laguna.
Laguna had ridiculous pop-in in the stock game. I can produce video to prove it. It's not this mods fault.

I have just downloaded it but won't have a chance to test till tomorrow. Will update later.
edubz123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 April 11, 17:58   #8
mroussev
 
mroussev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bulgaria
Default

Is it really gives significant fps boost or is something little?

Last edited by mroussev; 9 April 11 at 18:12.
mroussev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 April 11, 18:25   #9
BYF1
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default

I tried the no trackside bling one but had the outlines of billboards suspended above the track, looked weird so back to vanilla, and no frame rate boost from what I could tell.
BYF1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 April 11, 18:29   #10
McClusky
Donated
 
McClusky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Default

You don't need to unpack Shift 2, just unzip (or move) the files into the Pakfiles folder and run it. It didn't help me at all for FPS.
McClusky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 April 11, 18:50   #11
Skatawes
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Default

It doesnt even work for me, did it like was said but it just gives the error;
'Waring this file does not belong to any BFF archive' quite annoying since i could use the slight fps gain
Skatawes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 April 11, 19:53   #12
Kabala
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default

Same here (^)....followed the simple instructions, get an error ("NFSSInjector.exe has stopped working") when I try to install.
Kabala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 April 11, 20:18   #13
McClusky
Donated
 
McClusky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Default

did you launch the .exe as admin? (maybe)
McClusky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 April 11, 09:59   #14
hissingroach
 
hissingroach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chepstow.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skatawes View Post
It doesnt even work for me, did it like was said but it just gives the error;
'Waring this file does not belong to any BFF archive' quite annoying since i could use the slight fps gain
I did the following...thanks to Tom coombes on virtualIR.net....

"I put a folder in the Shift 2 root directory called "no bling no crowds complete" (no underscores), put all the files in there, and ran the install.bat as admin." ......confirmed as working by me
hissingroach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 April 11, 13:40   #15
noroardanto
 
noroardanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Indonesia
Age: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hissingroach View Post
I did the following...thanks to Tom coombes on virtualIR.net....

"I put a folder in the Shift 2 root directory called "no bling no crowds complete" (no underscores), put all the files in there, and ran the install.bat as admin." ......confirmed as working by me
This works thanks! at first the installer will say something like "warning this files doesn't belong to bla bla bla..." just keep it going.. at the end it will updates the tracks bff files
noroardanto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 April 11, 18:03   #16
AndrewMac
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default

I found that nothing happened when I double clicked the .bat file (as admin) in windows 7. I had to open a terminal as administrator, navigate to the right directory, and run the .bat from there. It then worked fine.
AndrewMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 April 11, 22:12   #17
edubz123
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chicago USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BYF1 View Post
I tried the no trackside bling one but had the outlines of billboards suspended above the track, looked weird so back to vanilla, and no frame rate boost from what I could tell.
anyone have good results? Should I bother with this?
edubz123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 April 11, 02:28   #18
Eldi
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default

I get random results with this mod. Sometimes the track load indefinetely, other times the same track will load perfectly. Unless i maybe a mistake while installing this ?
Eldi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 April 11, 02:57   #19
siroj100
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default

I have tried the mod and so far it works perfect . I gain about 10-15 FPS after installing this mod.
siroj100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 April 11, 07:28   #20
mroussev
 
mroussev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bulgaria
Default

Hm...You are the first one that talk about fps gain...I still wonder because dont want to reinstall game again if something is wrong.
mroussev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 April 11, 07:51   #21
guldukat
 
guldukat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Berlin, Germany
Default

FPS gain is the aime of the mod. It's removing 'useless' objects > means reduces the polygon count > means better performance.
Installed it yesterday, runs fine so far, but only drove Nordschleife, you may know why ...
If you backup your tracks folder ( in pakfiles folder ) you can easily roll back, without reinstalling the game, if you notice some issues.
Sometimes not loading tracks properly can also have other reasons.
Some reported problems with loading diffrent tracks while using totally unmodded game.

BTW; if you running a real good machine with fine FPS count on high, there's no need to use this mod!
guldukat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 April 11, 14:01   #22
edubz123
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chicago USA
Default

My Results w/ mod removing objects & crowds (see my machine specs below too)

Trial 1
Track: Laguna Seca
Time: Day
Opponents: zero
FPS: 50-70 (prior to mod I was getting 40-66)
Textures: High (Shadows and Reflections = Medium)
AA: Off in-game (App controlled enabled in CCC 11.3)
AF: 8x forced via CCC 11.3 (8x in game also)
VSynch: Off

Trial 2
Opponents: 7
All others parameters same as Trial 1
FPS: 40-60 (roughly same as before mod)

Conclusion: I did not get a significant FPS benefit, maybe 5-10 fps when driving alone. The track was completely deserted, like a ghost town. I did not like. I will roll back this mod, costs outweigh the benefits.

My machine:
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 @ 3.2Ghz
Mem: 2GB Kingston DDR3
OS: WinXP 32-bit (SP3)
Video: XFX ATi 5770 (1GB) single card
Power: XFX 650W modular
Mobo: ASUS 790X
(Nothing OC'd)

Last edited by edubz123; 12 April 11 at 14:19.
edubz123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 April 11, 14:08   #23
mroussev
 
mroussev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bulgaria
Default

@edubz123 thanks for that info.That what i waited to hear.So i am not gonna use this for now...
mroussev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 April 11, 14:42   #24
Siggs
 
Siggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Essex
Age: 24
Default

I really enjoy this mod, apart from one thing. Maybe I'm just being picky.

BURGER VANS

Now lets think about it, these are a common sight were there are spectators at a track(I left the crowds in my game). They are, actually, a realistic thing to see. And alot of locations, there are some pretty close to the trackside, which makes the random-clusters-of-people-away-from-the-guardrails, and the smoke-coming-from-an-invisible-vendor issues, a tad annoying!

Siggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 April 11, 17:52   #25
guldukat
 
guldukat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Berlin, Germany
Default

MAYBE CAREFULL
With this mod installed i couldn't load 'Nürburgring Sprint' (game never finished loading).
After a roll back of my backuped tracks folder everything works fine.
So maybe the mod should be revised!
guldukat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 April 11, 18:00   #26
mroussev
 
mroussev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bulgaria
Default

What car do you choose?Because this problem with endless loading is cause by many cars(team nfs rx-8,team nfs scion etc..)not from tracks.At least for me.
mroussev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 April 11, 18:26   #27
guldukat
 
guldukat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Berlin, Germany
Default

I tried with both cars ( Nissan 350z & Audi TT ), and after a rollback, which only contains track-folder, everything was fine at first try. Tested again with both cars.
So the issue might be in the mod.
guldukat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 11, 09:04   #28
pay2021
Uploader
 
pay2021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Default

I tried no bling and have people floating on nurburgring gp/f and some tracks dont load like willow springs, tried with no crowd and more tracks dont load like nurburgring gp/f, so back to defaults.
pay2021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 April 11, 05:56   #29
edubz123
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chicago USA
Default

ok, i had better results at Silverstone Bridge GP. With 7 AI opponents I had a 10 FPS boost throughout the course. Medium/High settings, zero AA, 8xAF, 1080 res, no blur

Performance was nice but it felt like a practice, again very deserted. Maybe some people are ok with that for now.

I will wait for ATi/SMS patches arriving end of April, hopefully they will be enough and I can forget about this mod.
edubz123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:52.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

www.nogripracing.com 2003 - 2014
Page generated in 0.14620 seconds with 8 queries