NoGripRacing.com

Go Back   NoGripRacing Forums > PC Racing > Project CARS

Old 11 October 11, 23:53   #1
Micas

Default WMD Terms and Conditions

I'm creating this thread for issues directly related to the WMD Terms and Conditions. I'm starting it off with my opinion of the T&C. I'm not a lawyer, but rather a software engineer in the US. These are just my opinions and I could well be wrong about everything. I highly recommend that anyone interested in buying any membership read the entire Terms and Conditions, and make up your own mind about what it means. You also might want to have a lawyer look it over if you are concerned about anything it describes.

To begin with, a general assessment of the T&C. Essentially, you are buying a membership into the WMD club. That membership means that you may be allowed certain privileges related to that membership. That includes access to the C.A.R.S. game as it is undergoing development. You may also be entitled to a "revenue share" of the sums received by SMS for the sale of the game. The tool pack page explains each tier of membership and its benefits.

What the T&C does is protect SMS against any legal action against it in a broad sense, and defines what SMS's obligations are, as well as the obligations of the members, which I think needs much clarification. Any "revenue share" you receive from SMS is completely at their discretion. They are not obligated to pay you anything, and your legal options are limited in the case that they do not act in a manner that any particular member might think they should.

I'm going to copy/paste some of the T&C and add more opinion;