NoGripRacing.com

Go Back   NoGripRacing Forums > PC Racing > Simbin Race Series

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 September 08, 02:17   #1
Mojo66
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Near Hockenheim
Age: 47
Default Modding GTR Evolution

Tutorial has been moved here due to size restrictions.

Last edited by Mojo66; 8 January 09 at 07:58.
Mojo66 is offline  
Old 10 September 08, 02:25   #2
volo108
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

Thank you for doing this ...

To solve the problem of GTR_Evo.gdb being overwritten maybe we should have an official NoGrip file that will be updated when new mods are posted on NoGrip with ID numbers being reserved for certain mods.

Just an idea, maybe there is a better way
volo108 is offline  
Old 10 September 08, 02:29   #3
scca1981
 
scca1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Age: 33
Default

good idea..... this should be a must.
scca1981 is offline  
Old 10 September 08, 05:20   #4
GTI-Heizer
 
GTI-Heizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ruhrpott, Germany
Age: 49
Default

@Mojo, thanks for the fairness to credit my work in the background.

When adding new cars to common classes, please make sure that the cars will fit from engine and physics.

Dont create so much new virtuell classes. Better try to adjust physics of new mods to new standard classes like G2,G3,NGT ...

Im not sure how many different classes the ClassGrid Display in EVO supports.
We will find it out...
GTI-Heizer is offline  
Old 10 September 08, 09:23   #5
snowy
Uploader
 
snowy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Default

Does this thread belong in the modding section? Just a thought . . .
snowy is offline  
Old 10 September 08, 17:19   #6
DrDeath1978
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oslo, Norway
Age: 35
Default


Last edited by DrDeath1978; 11 September 08 at 14:13.
DrDeath1978 is offline  
Old 10 September 08, 17:32   #7
Mojo66
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Near Hockenheim
Age: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDeath1978 View Post
Seems like .hdc & .eng & .grb has encrypted content.... Anyone know how to get them readable in notepad?
I have updated the guide to address this question.
Mojo66 is offline  
Old 10 September 08, 17:39   #8
DrDeath1978
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oslo, Norway
Age: 35
Default

Nevermind. Thx!

Last edited by DrDeath1978; 10 September 08 at 17:51.
DrDeath1978 is offline  
Old 10 September 08, 17:58   #9
audir8fan
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scca1981 View Post
good idea..... this should be a must.
But won't this give rise to ALAN WILLIAMS notepad modders that you elite (not elitist) modders hoped to keep out?
audir8fan is offline  
Old 11 September 08, 03:10   #10
volo108
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by audir8fan View Post
But won't this give rise to ALAN WILLIAMS notepad modders that you elite (not elitist) modders hoped to keep out?
Not sure what you mean, but whoever is keeping (updating) the official gdb can perhaps have some standard for inclusion, or we could have some kind of voting like Hall of Fame, but I don't think it should be too complicated.

Of course other modders can post their own gdbs (and keep them up to date) but it would be nice to have an "offical" one for NoGrip mods.

By the way this post should probably be a sticky untill this guide is finished and can be dowloaded as a file.
volo108 is offline  
Old 11 September 08, 04:08   #11
DucFreak
 
DucFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lisboa, Portugal www.gtlw.co.uk
Age: 39
Default

...let's see if I got it... so there's only one GDB to be used ?
...one single GDB shared by all mods no matter what?

I could be solo with this thought but, if this is the case, this seems like a MAJOR issue regarding modding in Evo afterall, same as "mismatch hell" when playing online, which for many players (most?) it's the main thing about these simulations (pick-up racing and especially league-racing).

...seems it will be the same in the upcoming STCC as well then?

NoGrip can have a "hall of fame" with the latest GDB file updated for Evo but, unelse it's "official" in worldwide terms and gets to every single user of Evo out there entering online, that idea it's just wishfull thinking.
...it won't be of any use for those that got one mod installed or missing different from others (prepare for chaos! *EEK* lol).

Something that needs an urgent update/change by SimBin if they want Evo as a stable modding platform.

BTW, very curious now, is this situation the same in Race'07?
DucFreak is offline  
Old 11 September 08, 04:22   #12
scca1981
 
scca1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Age: 33
Default

Good point.
scca1981 is offline  
Old 11 September 08, 04:26   #13
Smuckers
 
Smuckers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Default

now could someone explain why a hex editor is needed for this?
Smuckers is offline  
Old 11 September 08, 04:27   #14
NWRAP_Golly
 
NWRAP_Golly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Age: 41
Default

How could they make a monumental like that one Duc.... very interesting, hope they have an answer to it, or evo for modding is dead in the water as no one wants mismatches
NWRAP_Golly is offline  
Old 11 September 08, 04:30   #15
scca1981
 
scca1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Age: 33
Default

I'm satisfied with the content that comes with evo. Maybe another street car or 2 and the 997 and F430 and i'll be set.

You can still add cars into the game to match up with the classes already established.
scca1981 is offline  
Old 11 September 08, 04:34   #16
Orko
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

editing evo_gdb don't produce online mismatches
Orko is offline  
Old 11 September 08, 04:42   #17
DucFreak
 
DucFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lisboa, Portugal www.gtlw.co.uk
Age: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Orko View Post
editing evo_gdb don't produce online mismatches
That would be ok then. ...can everybody confirm this?

Still same question, this "HEX editing" stuff and the single GDB shared by every mod/class, is this the same in Race'07?
DucFreak is offline  
Old 11 September 08, 05:25   #18
GTI-Heizer
 
GTI-Heizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ruhrpott, Germany
Age: 49
Default

Yes, it is the same in race07.

EVO is race07. There is only one exe for both games in online installation.
Normaly the changed gdb's are overwritten/or ignored , when starting online mode over steam. GCF archives are loaded first.

For this case, changed gdb will ignored and this one in gcf archive will be used. Also no mismatch.
GTI-Heizer is offline  
Old 11 September 08, 08:34   #19
Orko
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

Does anyone test it with GTR Evo?
I see New classes in Steamversion too, seems it would'nt be overwritten.
Maybe i a bug in my installation? try it

regards Micha
Orko is offline  
Old 11 September 08, 14:01   #20
GTI-Heizer
 
GTI-Heizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ruhrpott, Germany
Age: 49
Default

It seems there is a difference between race07 and EVO. The good news: modifications in the evo.gdb will also working online.

Normaly, all files will be seachred in gcf first. It seems Simbin has changed here the order.

I try to add my Golf-GTI Mod, which was running before in Race07 online with a special menu-mod.
It now working when I take over the parans in the evo.gdb without the menu-mod.

Thanks ORCO for the info. That save some time for me for future mods.
GTI-Heizer is offline  
Old 11 September 08, 14:12   #21
Kodiak
Uploader
 
Kodiak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Over the hills and far, far away.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDeath1978 View Post
Seems like .hdc & .eng & .grb has encrypted content.... Anyone know how to get them readable in notepad?
WTCCED.exe
Kodiak is offline  
Old 11 September 08, 14:59   #22
Mojo66
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Near Hockenheim
Age: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTI-Heizer View Post
I try to add my Golf-GTI Mod, which was running before in Race07 online with a special menu-mod.
It now working when I take over the parans in the evo.gdb without the menu-mod.
Wait, before everyone does this on his own, we should establish something like a database, at least for the time being, as long as we don't have a better solution.

AFAIK, the ID has to be unique, probably the same with the class name. So we should coordinate our efforts, if every modder does his own thing we might end up in chaos.

Would it be ok if we start a new thread and collect IDs and the associated class name from all modders?
Mojo66 is offline  
Old 11 September 08, 16:20   #23
GTI-Heizer
 
GTI-Heizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ruhrpott, Germany
Age: 49
Default

This is AFAIK the best solution until Simbin offers a better methode, how to add new classes.

Maybe some standard classes first ( G2,G3,NGT ).

If the range is large enough, its possible to give a block to every moder.
We should try which is the highest value ( byte, int, long ).
GTI-Heizer is offline  
Old 11 September 08, 16:55   #24
volo108
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ****** View Post
Wait, before everyone does this on his own, we should establish something like a database, at least for the time being, as long as we don't have a better solution.

AFAIK, the ID has to be unique, probably the same with the class name. So we should coordinate our efforts, if every modder does his own thing we might end up in chaos.

Would it be ok if we start a new thread and collect IDs and the associated class name from all modders?
yeah please start a new thread, and if moderators can make it sticky, something like GTR EVO WIP, and then modders can post there and when the mod is getting ready for beta it can be assigned an ID number and added to the list at the top of the thread.
volo108 is offline  
Old 11 September 08, 21:29   #25
Mojo66
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Near Hockenheim
Age: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by volo108 View Post
yeah please start a new thread, and if moderators can make it sticky, something like GTR EVO WIP, and then modders can post there and when the mod is getting ready for beta it can be assigned an ID number and added to the list at the top of the thread.
New thread is up here.
Mojo66 is offline  
Old 11 September 08, 23:27   #26
volo108
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

Thanks, it looks good ... now how do we go about making it sticky.

I think it makes sense to leave some room between NoGrip numbers and Simbin numbers as there may be more expansions for Race that will take some of those numbers.

Also not all mods would need a unique number, for example maybe we could have a Production Car Category and we could put all modded production cars in there, no need to have a dozen different classes as Evo has powerful filter options.
volo108 is offline  
Old 12 September 08, 21:27   #27
KampferAs
Uploader
 
KampferAs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Age: 44
Default

Does anyone have a ModelID= list of used numbers? I had an issue with my Online skinnable Vectra... that needed this changed after Evo release...
KampferAs is offline  
Old 12 September 08, 21:36   #28
Mojo66
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Near Hockenheim
Age: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KampferAs View Post
Does anyone have a ModelID= list of used numbers? I had an issue with my Online skinnable Vectra... that needed this changed after Evo release...
List is available here.
Mojo66 is offline  
Old 12 September 08, 21:42   #29
Dzul
 
Dzul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 39
Default

Great initiative guys! This may increase sales of EVO...
Dzul is offline  
Old 13 September 08, 08:19   #30
KampferAs
Uploader
 
KampferAs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Age: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ****** View Post
List is available here.
Cheers, I have the ClassID= list, I'm talking about the ModelID= which is different, this is the one that gives each car model (Escort 1300 and say Escort 2600 would have a different ModelID= hash but would most likely use the same ClassID=68) an ID not what Class it'll be listed under in the Class Menu...
KampferAs is offline  
Old 15 September 08, 04:05   #31
Mojo66
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Near Hockenheim
Age: 47
Default

Update: added a new section about gearbox conversion.
Mojo66 is offline  
Old 16 September 08, 08:43   #32
KampferAs
Uploader
 
KampferAs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Age: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ****** View Post
Update: added a new section about gearbox conversion.
can you help me out a little on how to run your AWK script in Vista?
KampferAs is offline  
Old 16 September 08, 12:41   #33
PadishahWND
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Saarland, Germany
Age: 31
Default

how can i open the *.incar and *.car files?
PadishahWND is offline  
Old 16 September 08, 14:43   #34
Mojo66
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Near Hockenheim
Age: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KampferAs View Post
can you help me out a little on how to run your AWK script in Vista?
Yeah sorry to leave you guys standing in the rain, I wrote the new section (and the script) at 5:00am and forgot to write some documentation.
The old script also had a severe bug, so I strongly recommend to download EvoTools.zip again.
I've updated the new section with a bit more info, but tbh, I can't give you a tutorial on how to run UNIX/Linux tools under windows.

What I can offer you, though, is to convert your .grb files for you, plus the appropriate .hdc files, provided that you share the result with the public. I'm using scripts, and converting all 30 GTL files, for example, took me less than 5 minutes.

Last edited by Mojo66; 16 September 08 at 15:01.
Mojo66 is offline  
Old 17 September 08, 01:12   #35
Smuckers
 
Smuckers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Default

guess what i just found out. i removed all my new classes from the gdb, but left my new tga icons and the new classes still show up in the car selection menu. fully selectable
Smuckers is offline  
Old 17 September 08, 01:15   #36
RMi Release Group
Realistic Modders inc.
 
RMi Release Group's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Age: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smuckers View Post
guess what i just found out. i removed all my new classes from the gdb, but left my new tga icons and the new classes still show up in the car selection menu. fully selectable
obviously
RMi Release Group is offline  
Old 17 September 08, 01:16   #37
Smuckers
 
Smuckers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Default

u suck
Smuckers is offline  
Old 17 September 08, 01:16   #38
RMi Release Group
Realistic Modders inc.
 
RMi Release Group's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Age: 48
Default

ownt
RMi Release Group is offline  
Old 17 September 08, 02:34   #39
Speirs
 
Speirs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Default

Didn't know you had to wear a firesuit to this thread.
Speirs is offline  
Old 17 September 08, 03:57   #40
Mojo66
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Near Hockenheim
Age: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smuckers View Post
guess what i just found out. i removed all my new classes from the gdb, but left my new tga icons and the new classes still show up in the car selection menu. fully selectable
Yeah, GTI_heizer found this out a few days ago and posted it in this thread. It's a bit unfortunate that stuff get's spread over those two threads.
Mojo66 is offline  
Old 17 September 08, 04:03   #41
RMi Release Group
Realistic Modders inc.
 
RMi Release Group's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Age: 48
Default

i noticed it as well ( as mr. smuckers knows ) in preping the BMW M3 for evo, but wanted to verify it with an independant install. What i noticed is that it is simply by adding the proper icons allows the menu to pick it up.
RMi Release Group is offline  
Old 17 September 08, 04:56   #42
GTI-Heizer
 
GTI-Heizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ruhrpott, Germany
Age: 49
Default

The menu is still working without icons. When the icons missing there is an empty box to select the class. Enough in the early mod phase.
GTI-Heizer is offline  
Old 17 September 08, 05:15   #43
Smuckers
 
Smuckers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTI-Heizer View Post
The menu is still working without icons. When the icons missing there is an empty box to select the class. Enough in the early mod phase.
odd
Smuckers is offline  
Old 17 September 08, 05:55   #44
RMi Release Group
Realistic Modders inc.
 
RMi Release Group's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Age: 48
Default

true, at the first time this happened, I had removed some cars and edited the menu due to drive space problem, so I had some empty boxes and never choose corectly!. Now I have room and standard menus etc,and it is just all working Soon we will convert the RMi SR3&4 physics to Race07, from our GTR2 conversion.
RMi Release Group is offline  
Old 17 September 08, 22:40   #45
isamu
 
Join Date: May 2008
Default

Is there a Career/Money mod in the works? I'd love to play this game as a career like in GranTurismo/Forza 2
isamu is offline  
Old 17 September 08, 22:51   #46
KampferAs
Uploader
 
KampferAs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Age: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by isamu View Post
Is there a Career/Money mod in the works? I'd love to play this game as a career like in GranTurismo/Forza 2
interesting idea, but you might want to post in a separate thread, we are dealing with car mods specifically in this tread...
KampferAs is offline  
Old 17 September 08, 23:01   #47
KampferAs
Uploader
 
KampferAs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Age: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PadishahWND View Post
how can i open the *.incar and *.car files?
Notepad works great...

This is after you have decrypted them using v0.2.2 of WTCCED
KampferAs is offline  
Old 17 September 08, 23:11   #48
KampferAs
Uploader
 
KampferAs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Age: 44
Default

I have come up with a little online issue. I have written so far 3 new car physics sets. 2 x Aussie V8 Supercars using the WTCC E90 and the Vectra models & 1 x DTM using the E90 Extreme WTCC model.

Now, all three work and load great in-game and can be race about just fine...

When running these on a dedicated server if I select just the 2 V8's the server loads fine, and I can join it with my second PC over the Net and race. But, if I just load the DTM E90, the dedi server seems to load fine et, but when I look at the server with the in-game browser, the Class shows as "Unknown" and when I try to join I get the "Game not aailable. Host may be running an updated or modified."

Now I have copied the exact same files to both the Gaming PC and the Dedi Server PC (as I did for the V8's) and have used a file compare tool that states they are exactly the same files...

What do you think might cause this?
KampferAs is offline  
Old 19 September 08, 00:29   #49
ChOnG
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

Nice thread.

Have you found a way of editing the cams? the .cam files are encrypted atm and cant make custom cams at the moment.

Thanks for any help
ChOnG is offline  
Old 19 September 08, 20:11   #50
Smuckers
 
Smuckers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Default

who ever decided to create the crash dump file function in race07/gtr evo is retarded
Smuckers is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:40.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

www.nogripracing.com 2003 - 2014
Page generated in 0.33602 seconds with 9 queries